Archive for August 30, 2011

Who am I?

Hi, nice meeting you all πŸ™‚
I am Alex, 19, from Bulgaria, Ruse. I came in Aberdeen at the end of September 2010. I was unprepared to start my fairytale but I had the will to, so here I am, going straight to the top ( I hope so) following my dreams ( well, this is a Β cliche, this wasn`t exactly my dream).
My beginning: I had no idea want to study, where to go and what I am supposed to do afrerwards…I chose my course because I was a waitress for 3 years and I realised that I so like being around people and communication with customers Β that I choose to study Communications with PR. πŸ™‚
I don`t like the question: “What are you going to work when you graduate?” because I have no answer…I have 3 years to find it πŸ˜‰ hopefully it is not hidden in a place where I can`t find it!
My first night here: I arrived at the airport around 9pm, took a taxi to Woolmanhill Β Halls aaaaannndddd let the party begin…It was dark, rainy and GREY! Jeeez, I Bulgaria it is so colourful, everywhere is colourful…but we are in the GRANIT city, so do not expect any other colour apart from grey πŸ˜€ (it`s not that bad anyway) After I arrived at my accommodation I could see crazy students all around, drinking, shouting, singing, doing some strange things and talking various languages that I deffinitely do not understand! My first impression was: “Where am I!?! What am I doing here!?!” πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ I took my suitcase and started dragging it to the second floor, flat 83, room G!!! Best place ever! Flat of 8 girls! They were all there, so lovely and helpful, I would never forget it! First thing to do – connect to the internet and tell the world that I was alive πŸ˜€ Done! Second – unpack everything and fit it somehow in the tiny room – my new home! It was ridiculously small and green πŸ˜€ I hated it in the firs week, or more, but I cried when I left it! Beleive me, at the end it is your own home, your own place, your little fort!
I remember that I was invited to go out with my flatmates but I was way too tired and shocked to do that just in the second hour after my arrival.
In teh morning everything was diffrent and I started admiring this city and Β I got to know it street by street, corner by corner, place by place…it`s amazing after all that time…(apart from the fact that I got lost couple of times πŸ˜€ I am way too bad in orientation)

That was my beginning and my firs steps to Robert Gordon University (oh, and we were just 6/7 freshers from Bulgaria in my Uni….cool, while in Aberdeen Uni there were more that 80 bulgarians )

P.S. Β If you need any help in accommodating, meeting at the airport, bus/train station, give me a shout…meeting at the airpost from University doesn`t always mean that they will actually guide you to your halls… πŸ˜‰

Back to Uni just less in a month!

Hello, everybody! Hello Freshers and non-freshers!
Remembering my first year in Uni made me create this blog. My memories reminded me how scared I was moving into a new city in new country, hundreds miles away from home…
Sounds very brave, huh? Yeah, it is! Leaving everything and starting literally a new life.
Quite a lot questins were on my mind and I needed tons of answers…Well, with the time you will find your own answers and your unique way of doing everything; you just need little help in the very beginning to make your first steps!

I am here to help you, to tell you everything I know and find all the answers that you, freshers, need. I am here to guide you in the “thing” called “student life” πŸ™‚